8.2 C
New York
Sunday, April 18, 2021
Home Automobile MotoGP: Viñales leads penultimate day of testing at Losail with Oliveira in...

MotoGP: Viñales leads penultimate day of testing at Losail with Oliveira in 18th

Portuguese pilot tested new specifications for the RC16

Miguel This Thursday, Oliveira (KTM) was the 18th among 29 riders on the track in the second of three days of MotoGP pre-season testing taking place in Qatar.

The Portuguese driver recorded a time of 1´54.735 in the last of the 48 laps made at the Losail circuit, finishing 1.491 seconds from the top of the timesheet.

Miguel Oliveira was one of the 10 drivers who did not improve his record compared to the time achieved on Wednesday, in a day when the riders got back to having a hard day of testing new specs for the RC16.

The fastest driver was Maverick Viñales (Yamaha ), on his best lap at the end of the session in 1´53.244s.

The Yamaha team, which seems to have found the correct setting for his M1, not only saw Viñales at the top of the table, but Franco Mor bidelli (SRT Yamaha) was second at 0.079s, ahead of Fabio Quartararo who was third at 0.154s, from his teammate.

The top five was completed with Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati), who finished fourth at 0.200s, after leading the timesheet for much of the session, while Aleix Espargaró (Aprilia), was fifth after riding on his best lap in 1´53.640s, to finish 0.396s from Viñales.

This Thursday’s session was marked by the fall of Alex Márquez (LCR Honda), who even forced the display of the red flag.

The Spanish driver was forced to pass through the circuit medical center where a fractured right toe was eventually diagnosed.

The drivers return to action on Friday, for the third and final day of the pre-season tests, which anticipate the start of the new season that will take place on March 28 with the GP of the Qatar.

Testing times this Thursday.

1. Maverick Viñales (Yamaha), 1´53.244s

2. Franco Morbidelli (SRT Yamaha), + 0.079s

3. Fabio Quartararo (Yamaha), + 0.154s

4. Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati), + 0.200s

5. Aleix Espargaró (Aprilia), + 0.396s

6. Joan Mir (Suzuki), + 0.583s

7. Álex Rins (Suzuki), + 0.616s

8. Valentino Rossi (SRT Yamaha), + 0.749s

9. Johann Zarco (Pramac), + 0.812s

10. Pol Espargaró (Honda), + 0.8.59s


18. Miguel Oliveira (KTM), + 1,491s


Follow World Weekly News on

Sandra Loyd
Sandra Loyd
Sandra is the Reporter working for World Weekly News. She loves to learn about the latest news from all around the world and share it with our readers.

Leave a Reply

Must Read